Hang In There

I’ve begun my scripture writing challenge for September. I found one on Pinterest by swtblessings.com. It was actually for July 2017, I just thought this is what I wanted to read and meditate on this month. Yesterday and today were found in Psalm 37:5-11.

I have a tendency to read a passage, walk away, and then ponder it for a bit. I don’t always immediately doodle in my bible because I like to take the time to think about what God wants me to learn.

“Commit EVERYTHING you do to the Lord. Trust him, and he will help you. He will make your innocence radiate like the dawn, and the justice of your cause will shine like the noonday sun. Be still in the presence of the Lord, and WAIT PATIENTLY for him to act. Don’t worry about evil people who prosper or fret about their wicked schemes. Stop being angry! Turn from your rage! Do not lose your temper – it only leads to harm. For the wicked will be destroyed, but those who trust in the Lord will possess the land. Soon the wicked will disappear. Though you look for them, they will be gone. The lowly will possess the land and will live in peace and prosperity.” (Emphasis mine)

Today I was meditating on this passage as I was driving when I discovered a spider wandering across the hood of my car. I happened to notice it while stopped at a light. When the light turned green I accelerated and expected to see the spider fly off my car but it hunkered down and hung on for dear life. My speed varied from 5 to 60 mph and that spider never flew off my car. I reached my destination and that insect went about its merry way, having safely clung to my car. It may have been a hard won battle, but the spider was victorious.

Then I thought, oh my goodness, it’s like that passage in Psalms. Commit all I do to God, then hang in there waiting patiently for God to act. His timing is perfect. He knows what I need. He knows when I need it. God fights my battles and he will provide the necessary means to hold on and wait for him to act.

Holding on and waiting for God may not always look pretty, and I may struggle, but ultimately when I wait patiently for God I will then be blessed with an amazing resolution. I will be victorious. So I’m not going to concern myself with the schemes of others, gossip, or malicious intent. I’m not going to spend any of my days being angry and filled with rage, for that does not profit the kingdom of God nor does it benefit my well being and health. I am going to commit all that I am and all that I have to God and let him direct my footsteps. And while I wait, I’ll just hang in there.

Leave a comment